I don’t

I got used to some cultural shocks. Not to all of them though. For example, I still don’t get this “getting married” thing.

On my first day of class, some girl asked my 18 year old roommate: “What did you think of the boys? One of them will be your husband!” She was serious. Okay, she was also a sorority girl, but it doesn’t excuse everything, does it?

And as I went on in my Midwestern life, I realized that for a lot of girls, getting married was the ultimate goal in life. Getting married to someone you think you love is good. Getting married to someone who studies medicine is better. I actually met some girls telling me that they were studying in order to find a good (understand: rich) husband and become housewives. That’s a lot of self-esteem! I later learnt that they have a noun: MRS.-degree. Let me tell you something: when you have a word for something, it’s already too late.

The MRS-degree are not the only ones. Some girls just want to get married because… well, I still don’t know why. It seems to me that people think that getting married will create a new dimension to their love. It surely does create a new dimension to your life, but is it supposed to change the way you feel towards someone? Getting married is not anymore a long-time engagement, it’s a one day celebration in which the bride is supposed to be the most beautiful and important girl. The groom is kind of important too – but he comes second. And for the bridesmaids… the only thing we ask them is to be less beautiful than the bride. Well, the good point is that when you get to see the pictures, you’re having a really good laugh! It seems that the bride picks the dresses thinking “is it ugly enough?”.

Then, you have the people who wait to be married in order to live together – or more. It might surely make the proposal come faster! Living together is such a huge engagement, I would have hated getting married, moving in with my new husband and realizing I hated his habits. Well, too late, you signed, you’re screwed!

Since I moved here, I’ve met so many young girls who are now getting married… I’m not against marriage, I’m just wondering “why do you need to do that at the beginning of your life?” France’s average age for marriages is 30. A lot of my friends have lived together for years and are not married. They’re not less happy. They have time to think about the decisions they’re making. They’re not less committed to each other either.

I’m not happy, though, when people ask me why my boyfriend and I don’t get married and get upset when I say we don’t want to. I’m not happy when people tell me that marrying him would get me a green card.

So, Midwestern girls, let’s make it clear: I’m 23, I don’t want to get married and I’m perfectly happy.

About Leslie Is Hungry

I’m a French student who decided to stay in the US when she was supposed to go back. Here is my experience as a non-exchange student, as a foreigner, as a woman, as an intern. Welcome to the Amerifrench life!
This entry was posted in Culture shock, Posts in English and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I don’t

  1. Jade says:

    J’ai remarqué que chez certaine personne, dire que le but de leur vie est de se marier est une façon, très mal choisie, d’exprimer que leur profond désir est de fonder une famille et d’y vouer leur vie. Ce qui n’est pas un drame en soit, ça peut tout à fait être un objectif de vie, être Maman est un métier.
    Ce qui est gênant, c’est que le mariage est encore aujourd’hui dans l’imaginaire collectif, la passerelle qui mène à l’étape “famille-heureuse-et-sans-problèmes-financiers”. Parce que les sociétés (et notamment la société américaine) sont construites de telle manière que si tu veux fonder une famille, il vaut mieux se marier (pour des raisons pratiques et administratives).

    Pour celles dont le but ultime est de se marier avec un homme riche, juste pour passer son temps chez soi à refaire son intérieur à loisir … Pour celles qui sont profondément inutiles et connes, c’est très malin de leur part comme solution de vie. Pour celles qui ont de la suite dans les idées et qui pourrait avoir un métier, c’est malheureux pour leur self-estime et leur bonheur personnel.

    Je crois que dans beaucoup de société, le bonheur est inscrit dans l’idée d’une famille nucléaire classique (mariage + bébés + maman au foyer + papa au travail), ce qui, en fait, est ce que beaucoup de jeunes de notre génération ont eu (y compris moi).
    A nous de faire évoluer les pensées, la société et la façon de vivre des jeunes de ce monde.

    Bref, j’ai bien aimé cet article.

    P.S. : tu connais Bref ? Regarde c’est très drôle : http://www.canalplus.fr/c-divertissement/pid3848-c-bref.html

  2. Comme je le dis, je ne suis pas contre le mariage et je suis d’accord que ça change ta vie, surtout d’un point de vue financier et administratif.
    Mais c’est justement de ces filles un peu niaises dont je parle. Pour moi, faire des études juste pour rencontrer quelqu’un n’est pas une bonne raison. Il n’y a rien de mal à être femme au foyer mais j’en ai rencontré qui allaient à la fac juste pour pouvoir, comme tu dis, redécorer leur intérieur. Je trouve ça vraiment pitoyable.
    J’ai eu le bonheur de regarder ma page facebook le lendemain de Noël. Tu n’imagines le nombre de filles de 19 ans qui viennent de se fiancer, ou le nombre de garçons qui viennent de faire leur demande. Encore une fois, pourquoi pas, mais à 19 ans, on ne se marie pas pour des raisons financières, ou en tout cas je l’espère ! Et les facebooks en questions montrent “MON mariage, MA bague, MA journée”, et je sais que pour beaucoup, ce sera pareil le jour du mariage. J’ai même vu un “maintenant qu’il a fait sa demande je l’aime encore plus”… sérieusement ?

    Bref.
    Ouais je connais.
    Bref.

  3. Jade says:

    Encore heureux que tu connaisse Bref.

Leave a Reply

