They’ll make me hate Christmas

After Thanksgiving and Black Friday, it’s time for Christmas. And by Christmas, the US means “horrible songs every day on every radio station and every public place”. Okay, maybe not every radio station. But when I learnt that some stations will change all their programs into Christmas songs programs, I decided to be dramatic again.

We were having brunch in a restaurant which, of course, was playing Christmas songs. Totally understandable, it was November 27th, not like if Christmas was a month from there… There are a lot of fun, joyful Christmas songs. Like those ones. As you can imagine, they are not the ones that restaurants will choose. They will pick the depressing songs. I heard several people complaining so I asked the waitress if they had a law about Christmas songs. Turns out they don’t! Go figure why they do that then… the waitress was so happy that I asked her to change the music, the people around us too. When she finally put something else (The Who, could she do better?) the whole atmosphere changed. Waiters smiled more. Customers began to laugh louder. Do those Christmas songs that are supposed to make us happy just change us into morose monsters?

Now, I’m just afraid to go to any public place in case of a songs attack. I was walking home tonight, thinking “okay, I don’t have a car, no radio, I’m safe” when I saw a group of middle-aged people singing Christmas songs on the street. That was a low Christmas songs attack. Really low.

The good thing about December though is the Advent Calendar. But now, instead of thinking “how many days before Christmas?”, I think “how many days before they stop with their Christmas songs?”

Booh, let’s admit it… they won’t make me stop loving Christmas time, I’ll just keep earplugs all day long!

Don’t watch the video with kids… or do, but don’t blame me!

About Leslie Is Hungry

I’m a French student who decided to stay in the US when she was supposed to go back. Here is my experience as a non-exchange student, as a foreigner, as a woman, as an intern. Welcome to the Amerifrench life!
This entry was posted in Culture shock, Just sayin', Posts in English and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They’ll make me hate Christmas

  1. Jade says:

    OMD … La FNAC diffuse des chants de Noël à fond les ballons, devant l’entrée du magasin. Et comme, il y a un échafaudage devant le magasin, le son se répercute et résonne comme dans une boîte de nuit. Une boîte de nuit “All I want for Christmas is you” + “Avé Maria” : autant dire une playlist assez éclectique. Berk.

Leave a Reply

