The French Girl and the Black Friday

I had my first Black Friday. Finally! Oh and believe me, you want to watch the video at the end of this post!

So, I had heard horrible things about Black Friday. People fighting, people being injured etc. Oh my!, I was so far from the truth!

I first saw some of the people I work with spending hours on Black Friday ads. For weeks. Non-stop. I did not.

Then, we had Thanksgiving. The day when you say you’re thankful for all the things you have. For having a roof above your head, food in your plate etc. Then, once you’re done eating and being thankful, you run to the store. For the convenience of my American experience, my boyfriend, his sister and I decided to go to Walmart. Best Decision Ever. We arrived around 9:45PM to see a whole lot of people waiting around video games and DVDs. At 9:59, the sale clerks arrived and opened the plastics. That’s when the war began. The three of us were standing a little to the side to avoid being killed. Thanks to my boyfriend’s arms and patience, I had an exceptional view to the scene. People just ran. All those people who, two hours earlier, were thankful for what they had, were now fighting over a video game. They hit the clerk so hard that he had to stop them. Some people were crying. A woman began to yell that “I’ve been here since 6, I deserve those!”… deserve? What did you do for them? Then we wandered around the store and I was really shocked by all the people there. People were buying their Christmas presents, people were buying fridges, TVs, people were buying anything, just to buy something. We saw so many kids with their parents, too young to be up so late, too young to know that their parents are the one buying the Christmas gifts. We saw people who seemed to really need those sales, and that was the hardest part.

My boyfriend and I saw a little box / chair, we looked at it, talked about it, decided not to take it. Another couple arrived, looked at it, opened it, put their stuff in the box and left with it. When their son asked if they needed it, the dad answered “it’s cheap!”. It’s cheap. Dude, that’s a good reason!

People had arms carts full of stuff they did not need. It was consumption society in its darkest moments (who said I’m dramatic!)

When people ask me what I thought about Black Friday, I sincerely answer “It’s like being part of an organization in a Third-World country: it’s good to know it happens, but you so wish you could change it”. That’s what I thought. Misery.

About Leslie Is Hungry

I’m a French student who decided to stay in the US when she was supposed to go back. Here is my experience as a non-exchange student, as a foreigner, as a woman, as an intern. Welcome to the Amerifrench life!
This entry was posted in Culture shock, Posts in English and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The French Girl and the Black Friday

  1. Jade says:

    J’ai peur pour l’humanité.

  2. BisonWoman says:

    As I said before, there is nothing I want that bad!

  3. Christine Dunne says:

    Hey Leslie, I’m so glad to have discovered your blog! Just one question about this post. When you write “I was so far from the truth,” don’t you mean you weren’t far from the truth? It seems like you had a negative experience, just like you anticipated. In response to your question on my blog, French people can write for MyFrenchLife.org, too. For more info, check out http://myfrenchlife.org/write.

    • Sorry for the late answer:
      I thought it would be bad and I was far from the truth because it was not ONLY bad, it was horrible. It’s like if I expected a bad graded 5/20 and I got a 20/20. Do I make sense?

  4. Olivia says:

    I think you have maybe had more American culture experiences than me. Haha!!

  5. Hahahaha. When I told my host mom about Black Friday and people camping out weeks in advance, she was shocked. (Also about the bathroom post- so true! I’m so happy to be back in the States for no other reason except being able to find clean, free bathrooms.) Happy Amerifrench living!

Leave a Reply

