Dear US people, did you know that you put cinnamon in everything?

I hate cinnamon.

It was never a big problem in my life, I mean, come on, it’s not like if I was a vegetarian. But not liking cinnamon in the US is like being a vegetarian in France.

I tried hard to like it. But hum, I don’t. So I tried to avoid it. And how hard it is!

Dear US people, did you know that you put cinnamon in everything? Literally everything!

When I go get a coffee (wait, a hot chocolate. Yes, I’m more than 5, I promise) I always have the choice between those three little boxes: sugar, vanilla powder or cinnamon. Cinnamon! Seriously? Is that in case I would think that my hot chocolate coffee is not strong enough? Or that my whipped cream needs more color?

Then, to forget about this shame, I go grab a cookie. Don’t even ask if the cookies have cinnamon, the answer is “yes”. I’ve been adventurous once, I took a plain cookie. I learnt something important that day: plain cookie = cinnamon cookie.

You want cereal? Cinnamon! Indeed, they do have cinnamon cereal!

But the worse is a cinnamon roll. A cinnamon roll is like a little cinnamon man yelling at you “eat me eat me, I’m pure cinnamon!” It’s batter and cinnamon. Period. And people just love it!

I would love to write more but I have to go bake a cake for Thanksgiving. Guess what my main ingredient is…

About Leslie Is Hungry

I’m a French student who decided to stay in the US when she was supposed to go back. Here is my experience as a non-exchange student, as a foreigner, as a woman, as an intern. Welcome to the Amerifrench life!
This entry was posted in Food stuff, Just sayin', Posts in English and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear US people, did you know that you put cinnamon in everything?

  1. Jade says:

    La cannelle ça déchire sa mère, moi aussi j’en met dans tout et puis d’abord t’as qu’à aimé la cannelle comme tout le monde !!!

  2. Charlène says:

    Comme je te comprends… Quand je suis allée aux US moi qui détestait rien que l’odeur de la cannelle et que je les ai vus en mettre partout j’ai vraiment eu peur! Finalement, quand ils m’ont fait goûté un french toast (avec de la cannelle bien sûr) j’ai finalement adoré et de là a commencé mon histoire d’amour avec tous les aliments à base de cannelle…Heureusement pour moi car comme tu dis: “how hard it is!” to avoid it!

Leave a Reply

