I’m not late, I’m French

Have you noticed how some people are always on time?
For some other people, well, it’s not as true…

Let me explain that to you. French people have what we call “the 5 French minutes”. Which doesn’t mean more than what it says: if you have an appointment with anyone in France, expect them to be five minutes late. Easy.

Now, what about people from Lyon? Those have “The Lyon quarter”, which allows you to be 15 minutes late.

For those of us, like me, you were born in another city but grew up in Lyon, allow us 20 minutes (for the non-science readers: 5+15) Not easy to live in the always-on-time country then… But I’m getting better! Well, at least I learned to say “sorry for being late”.

So, if you live in Lyon and have an appointment with someone, here is what you should understand:

– Sure, let’s meet at 3PM! -> Sure, let’s meet around 3:30PM!

– I have plenty of time before leaving! -> I have to be there at 10AM and it’s only 9.55AM!

– Yep, on my way! –> I’m about to lock my door.

– I HATE people who are late! -> I HATE people who are late! Except me.

So, who complained about me not posting on this blog on time?

About Leslie Is Hungry

I’m a French student who decided to stay in the US when she was supposed to go back. Here is my experience as a non-exchange student, as a foreigner, as a woman, as an intern. Welcome to the Amerifrench life!
This entry was posted in Just sayin', Posts in English and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m not late, I’m French

  1. Jade says:

    J’avais envie de dire, je suis pas d’accord. Parce que j’aime être à l’heure et je déteste que les gens ne soit pas à l’heure. Mais je suis de plus en plus en retard maintenant, mais ça c’est uniquement à cause du fait que maintenant j’habite en ville. Avant j’étais toujours en avance !!!

  2. tgcprasad says:

    This is a good one and I liked your blog name…Leslie is Hungry…it is cute!

Leave a Reply

